Online Test      LOGIN      SIGN UP
Forgot your password?

SSC CGL Exam Pattern & Procedure

SSC CGL Selection Procedure

Scheme of the Examination for Combined Graduate Level Examination 2017:
The Examination will be conducted in four tiers as indicated below:
Tier -I -- Computer Based Examination
Tier -II -- Computer Based Examination
Tier -III -- Pen and Paper Mode (Descriptive paper)
Tier-IV -- Computer Proficiency Test/ Skill Test (wherever applicable)/ Document Verification

Interview component has been dispensed with. There will, therefore, be no interview

SSC CGL Exam Pattern SSC CGL Exam Pattern: Staff Selection Commission (SSC) will conduct the CGL exam. CGL Tier-1 exam qualified candidates will be able to appear for the CGL Tier-2 exam and those candidates who will pass the Tier-2 exam will be eligible for Tier-3 exam. Candidates who are going to appear for “CGL Exam” must know the exam pattern, marking scheme and syllabus to perform well in the exam. Exam is objective type and will be conducted online. Question paper will be divided into 4 sections: (1) General Intelligence & Reasoning, (2) General Awareness/ General knowledge, (3) Quantitative Aptitude and (4) English Comprehension. There are 100 questions for 200 marks and exam duration will be 60 minutes. There will be negative marking of 0.50 marks for each wrong answer.


Staff Selection Commission has made following changes in the examination pattern
* Time limit for SSC CGL Tier I examination reduced from 75 to 60. Tier I exam consist of 100 questions.
* For every wrong answer, 0.50 marks will now be deducted as compared to 25 marks that used to happen before in SSC CGL Tier I exam.
For posts of Assistant Section Officer (CSS) and Assistant Section Officer (MEA), Computer Proficiency Test (CPT) has also been prescribed as an Essential Qualification, under Proficiency/ Skill Test.
The Commission will hold Computer Proficiency Test (CPT), comprising of three modules- Word Processing, Spread Sheet and Generation of Slides, for applicants for the post of Assistant Section Officer of CSS and Assistant Section Officer of Ministry of External Affairs (MEA). The CPT will be conducted in the manner decided by the Commission for the purpose. CPT will be of qualifying nature. 
Scheme of DOPT for the post of Assistant Section Officer in CSS and MEA does not envisage exemption from CPT for any category of PH candidates.

Scheme of Examination: Tier-I

Computer based Examination mode
Total : 200 Marks
Duration :60 Minutes(Total)
having following 4 sections
A.General Intelligence Reasoning  25 Questions
B.General Awareness               25 Questions
C.Quantitative Aptitude           25 Questions
D.English Comprehension           25 Questions
For VH and candidates suffering from Cerebral Palsy:80 Minutes
There will be negative marking of 0.50 for each wrong answer in Tier-I. 

Scheme of Examination: Tier-II

Computer based Examination mode
Duration: 120 Minutes (Total)
Paper-I. Quantitative Abilities (100 Questions)-200 Marks
Paper-II. English Language & Comprehension: (200 questions)-200 Marks
Paper-I & II are compulsory for all the categories of posts
Paper-III Statistics (100 Questions)-200 Marks
only for those candidates who apply for the post of Junior Statistical Officer (JSO)
Paper-IV General Studies (Finance and Economics) (100 Questions)-200 Marks
only for those candidates who apply for the post of Assistant Audit Officer (AAO)/Assistant Accounts Officer(AAO)
For VH and candidates suffering from Cerebral Palsy:160 Minutes
The negative marking system of 0.25 for each wrong answer in paper II (English Language & Comprehension) of Tier-II and 0.50 for each wrong answer in Paper-I, Paper III and Paper IV of Tier II.

 Scheme of Examination: Tier-III

Descriptive Paper of English/Hindi Pen and Paper mode
Total marks 100 60 Minutes 
Writing of Essays/Precie/Letter/Applications etc
For VH and candidates suffering from Cerebral Palsy: 80 Minutes

The merit will be prepared on overall performance in Tier-I, Tier-II and Tier-III.However, the candidate will need to qualify all the tiers i.e Tier-I, Tier-II and Tier-III separately. There will be no sectional cut-off

Exam Category

script type="text/javascript">